would it hurt worse?

Wise words today from my friend at work. I said I wasn’t sure we’d try again. That I wasn’t sure I could go through losing another. So many people go through this again and again. And I don’t know how. The heartbreak. The raw, private, public, simple, complex, overwheming heartbreak. She said…but would it hurt worse not to try again?
Would it?
I hadn’t thought of that. Perhaps that’s how people make it through.
She said ‘maybe you’re stronger than you think’.
I thought ‘maybe you’re wiser than you think’, but said nothing. I didn’t want my voice to betray the tears I was trying so hard to keep from falling.
Is there worse?

2 Comments

Filed under ivf

2 responses to “would it hurt worse?

  1. sprogblogger

    Yeah–you’ve got a seriously wise & compassionate friend there. Someone who ‘gets’ it. Treasure her, (& when you’re feeling up to it, let her know how her words touched you!) Only you can figure out the answer to that question, but it’s the most important question– really the ONLY important one right now– you need to figure out. Everything else will fall into place. Thinking of you.

  2. Mo

    What an amazing friend! And she is very right. I’ve had three losses, and not even close to giving up – because that idea is more unfathomable than another loss. It may be that someday the balance changes (let’s hope I never get that far and my losses end at three), but until then, I find the strength. I don’t know how. I just do. Give yourself time to heal, and time to grieve. Then you will see what truly hurts worse. Until then, just take care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

