The Name Game

I need to preface this conversation with a few important facts. The first is husband isn’t strongly opinionated when it comes to this sort of thing. The second is there are already 4 grandkids on his side. This is the first and likely only on my side so I feel that family names from my side aren’t inappropriate – and that since Bubble will have his last name, he’s got the family part covered. The third fact is, well, these names are important to me. If he had some that were important to him, there would be something to discuss.

As you can suspect from the facts, I’m kind of railroading the name thing…

The current first choice girl name was my grandmother’s name – she moved in with us and took care of me when I was little. Sadly, she passed away the September I was in 2nd grade. The middle name would be a variation of my father’s name (also my sister’s middle name). He passed away in 2000.

I should interject that before my dad died he asked that if my sister or I had a baby we’d name the girl emma or the boy after him. Although I like the name emma there are just too many here in Toronto. But that was my Gram’s middle name. And, I have to say, I’m not thrilled with his name as a first name either – but it makes a great middle name.

Boy name – My Dad did often refer to a character in a book and movie that we both enjoyed. When I play back the sound of my dad’s voice in my head it’s one of the phrases I remember as though he’s still standing next to me. So that is my first name pick, with my dad’s name as a middle name.

So – now that all that is out of the way, here are my picks…

g- Alma Rae – Allie

b- Shane Raymond

They are kind of old fashioned but that suits me just fine.

Of course, a lot can happen in 5.5 months…

3 Comments

Filed under ivf

3 responses to “The Name Game

  1. I love them both! I love Shane for a boy, but my husband isn’t as in favor as I. I love Alma- so sweet and classic. My daughter’s name peaked in popularity in the 1900’s and I love that!

    Great choices. Will you be finding out gender or is it a surprise?

  2. I think they’re really cute!! I’m not really into old fashioned names, but I like them both!

  3. I have an old fashioned name and love it. I think it’s great to have a connection to the names you choose. Right now we are just pulling names from the ether.

Leave a Reply

