At the heart of it…

Apparently being pregnant does more than affect your metaphorical heart. It affect the blood pumping one as well. I have a heart condition – a tachycardia ( or racing heartbeat) that has up till this point being pretty much a non issue in my life. It crops up every now and again – 2 or 3 times a year. Heart is normal. Heart is beating like bat out of hell for no apparent reason. Then after anywhere from 12 sec to 12 minutes goes back to normal – no harm no foul.

Well since Bubble entered the picture – seems it’s off to the races every week. And this, I’ve been told, is quite normal for people with this type of condition.

So tomorrow – oh joy oh bliss – I get to head over to the hospital – get all hooked up to a monitor that I get to wear for 48 hours – hopefully catch my uber-beating heart in action at some point during that time then head back 2 days later to have it removed.

More poking. More prodding. Must check it out just to be sure. Have had this test before. It’s really no big deal.

Only bringing it up because I keep talking about how my heart is expanding faster than my waistline -filled well over capacity with love for Bubble – and find it funny (funny strange, not funny ha ha) that all the while, my other heart – the red and bloody one has gotten itself all worked up too.

The human body is a fascinating thing.

6 Comments

Filed under ivf

6 responses to “At the heart of it…

  1. Nic

    I hope the heart test goes well.

  2. I hope all goes well with the 2 day test. The body certainly is fascniating.

    I too have a heart defect (leaky valve) that has never caused me problems, but has put me in the high risk category for my pregnancy. Still no issues up until this point in my pregnancy, so I’m hoping that all goes well over the next 11 weeks. My cardio did warn me that the same 2 day monitoring that you’re doing could be in my future.

    Hopefully everything goes smoothly for the both of us.

  3. Isn’t it amazing the changes our body undergoes through pregnancy? Hope they don’t find any complications due to your heart issue.

    Good luck!

    ~ICLW

  4. ICLW…

    There’s nothing wrong with my heart (that I know of, knock on wood) but it has been working beyond overtime during pregnancy!

    Good luck with the test. Hope that it’s all purely precautionary and you get the all-clear.

  5. I hope all is well with your heart. It’s truly amazing what the human body is capable of.

    ICLW

  6. Hope the test goes well.
    Erica
    ICLW

Leave a Reply

