The other 2WW

Ultrasound has been booked – for 2 weeks from today…yup – another 2WW. This time, not to find out if we’re pregnant. But to find out if, after 7? weeks, we’re still pregnant.

The world is a cruel place. All we can do is believe that the Bubble is A-ok and wait, wait, wait. You think we’d be better at it by now.

In an effort not to sound ungrateful, without faith in the Bubble and a little crazy, I’m trying to embrace being pregnant (even though I’m scared shi.tle.ss that I won’t be for long). So today, in the spirit of being a pregnant lady I embraced what felt like seasicknes at my desk for about 2.5 hours in the afternoon. I embraced wanting my lunch so badly I could hear my stomach saying please, please – then as soon as I got a whiff of it being completely turned off and wanting something different. I ate about half of my second lunch – wasn’t interested in door #1 – then felt so full I was aching. (for about 30 min after which I was stomach-pain hungry all over again). I embraced having more pee breaks than some of the women from two floors down have smoke breaks.  And I embraced the thought of never embracing again as a hug I got at work today had my flaming chest begging for mercy.

I’ve spent so much time trying to get pregnant I’ve never given much thought to what it’s like to be pregnant. And the truth so far, 5 weeks in, is it’s really weird. Like weeeeeeird.

Wonder what’s in store for me next?

5 Comments

Filed under bubble, conceive, ivf

5 responses to “The other 2WW

  1. I know, comments week only starts tomorrow but I am getting ahead of myself a little because the list is looooong and I want to do it justice.

    Not sure that it helps but I was astounded at how much pregnancy kicked my butt! Nausea, emotional dramas and food weirdness were just the start of it!

    I remember in the first trimester when I was particulary stressed about whether the boys would make it (they did!) my gran said to me that I should take comfort in all the sickness and drama because it was my way of knowing that the pregnancy was still going strong. I don’t know if that is true but it certainly helped me cope with the daily changes!

    Regards
    VP

  2. In a (small)way the 2ww for the ultrasound can be harder than the IVF 2ww- lots of worries abound. But really, they are worries about the pregnancy, not wondering if one *ever* will be. That is how I felt, anyway.

    Enjoy your symptoms! Hope time passes super quickly,

  3. Welcome to the club. The club of …… “is this really freaking happening to me this time?”

    I hope that within time you can fully immerse yourself in the beauty of pregnancy.

  4. rosesdaughter

    Congrats!! I am right behind you, just got my BFP on Thurday morning. I am going to call Monday to schedule my 1st OB check. I understand what you mean about yet ANOTHER 2 ww. Mine is scarier than most because I had a miscarriage in November and I am scared to death there won’t be a HB when I go, or that I wont even make it to the appointment.
    But I am trying to embrace pregnancy to the fullest and enjoy it.

    Hope your 2ww wont be so terrible this time!

    ICLW

  5. iambrowneyedgirl

    I found the easiest thing to do was to take it one day at a time. Enjoy each day and celebrate each day as a miracle.

    Good luck with your pregnancy!

    ICLW

Leave a Reply

