Better Be Home Soon

Done. Retrieved 8 darling little eggies currently being isci’d in the lab. It’s like a pre-arranged marriage. Normally it’s sperm meets egg, sperm loses egg, another sperm comes along. loses egg then the next sperm – whooo-eee. Cue “the way to make me feel”. Or “Fever” or “Close to you”. This one’s it – the sperm of sperm and he just dives right in – egg and sperm fertilize and Ka-Paw…everything changes.

In this case it’s more like unsuspecting egg is sitting at the bottom of a slide. ( not really knowing it’s a slide). And along comes this apha male – best swimmer, most agile, makes all the other sperm jealous and the other eggs swoon sperm – whoosh- right down the slide – into our egg and Ka-Paw…everything changes. Sure, they didn’t get to have the whole “What’s your sign, come here often” discussion. But arranged marriages have been working for thousands of years around the world. Right?

And if it takes my egg as long to find a sperm as it took DH and I to find each other, we could be at this a long long time.

Tonight I am recovering from my own (not terrible) physical discomfort of the retrieval. But what’s more embarrassing, is the emotional discomfort of having my little team tucked away where I can’t have any role in the outcome. Where the heat could be to low – I’m cold all the time- or where the lights could be too bright or too dim.

What if the tech watching them doesn’t know that whenever the person who carried them around got a little nervous about this process she played Graceland – and maybe a little Paul Simon in there would make them want to grow bigger and stronger.

I just want my little fellers back home where they belong. I am surprise by the overwhelming feeling of love and need to protect them I feel – when they are so small, I would even be able to see them.

Oh – and I got an awesome honest scrap award – and my first ‘honest’ utterance is I don’t know how to get it into my post. Help?

11 Comments

Filed under ivf

11 responses to “Better Be Home Soon

  1. awakeintheworld

    I love this post. I love your arranged marriage analogy. I’m rooting for you, your eggs, his sperm, and whatever happens next.

  2. Congratulations on the retrieval! It really is a strange feeling to know your embryos are across town somewhere. Wishing you a great fert rate and a quick wait until transfer!

  3. Congratulations! 8 is super, and I am not surprised at all to hear of your emotional connection- I hope the wait is short and you get to be reunited soon. As always, I love your humor and honesty.

  4. Wow, eight is wonderful. Congratulations! I’ve never thought about this part of the ER, feeling protective and missing the eggs/embryos when they’re in the lab. But, it makes perfect sense.

    Can’t wait to hear the fert report, and I wish you all the luck in the world!

  5. 8 sounds great! Wishing you a great report. Wishing you lots of luck!

  6. I just happened across your blog while re-searching more on IVF and I can’t help but feel like we’re in the SAME boat.

    I had my egg retrieval on Wednesday, February 25th, 2009 and 12 little eggies were removed. 11 were mature and 8 were fertilized. I can’t help but to feel the same over-protectivness that you do and the overwhelming sense of love for them already.

    I wish you the best of luck and I’d like to keep updated on your journey and am currently starting my IVF blog as well. Our embryo transfer is tomorrow, so wish us luck! 🙂

    Keep in touch!

  7. Fantastic news! Your little embies will be back home, safe and sound, soon enough. Here’s wishing you all the best! ICLW

  8. oooh, hearing graceland should make embryos grow better. Great idea!
    I hope all goes well over the next few days.

  9. Congrats! Isn’t it amazing how that sense of love and the need to protect starts so early!

    I hope your recovery from the ER is swift and that you get great news on your fertization report!

  10. So glad things went well yesterday! I was thinking about you when I was going back for my ER and was glad to know that someone else out ‘there’ was going through it with me!

    Can’t wait to hear the fert report today!

  11. Shannon

    Yay for 8 eggies! Your post brought back such a visceral remembrance of the helplessness this part of the process brings. I often wondered about my little guys, what they were doing, if they were warm/cool enough… But before you know it they’ll be back safe and sound with you, where they belong.

Leave a Reply

