I hope you dance

First, my apologies for the lack of iclw comments today. I’m kind of freaking out about the retrieval but I’ll do double duty tomorrow. I also got an award today that I haven’t posted up here,  given proper thanks for or done the work what comes with – again apologies. I’ll do a great job of that tomorrow too. Along with a full ER report.

Tonight – I just want to write a quick note to the follicles that hold the eggs that tomorrow will meet their loving fathers’ contribution and hopefully fertilise, begin to grow, hang in there long enough to come back to us, tuck in for the long haul and eventually become a smiling, clapping, dancing part of our family.

That’s a lot to ask of a tiny little follice. It’s a big, big ask. And I’m not sure if you’re actually holding any eggs. And if you are, I don’t know if all the rest of that long list is even possible.

But if it is. If there’s a chance you’re holding a little ray of hope in there – do me a favour… Give it all you’ve got. I know it’s going to be quite a ride. There will be all sorts of things standing in your way. It’ll be scary too, just a microscopic little tigg like you out there in the world all alone.

But don’t let that get to you. You’ve got a little job to do and if you do it well – there’ll be all kinds of way more fun adventures in your future. There’ll be snowflakes and star fish, and ice cream and balloons full of stuff you can’t see, but when your Dad breathes it in, he talks funny. So many things I can’t even list them off.

So when you’re faced with the choice tomorrow to give up a little eggie or hold tight – give it up.

And little eggie – when you meet a fellow and you’re not quite sure about him – give him a chance, you could be great together.

We could all be great together. I’m sure I’ll ask you to do a zillion things – but this one, this first one…it counts the most. Just get us started. Fight your way  against the odds. Take the chance to be something extraordinary.  And if you get the choice to sit it out or dance  -Dance!

8 Comments

Filed under ivf

8 responses to “I hope you dance

  1. Yes, dance!
    When we did our first IVF, we realizing, right after ER, that our eggs & sperm were doing their dance. Possibly for the first time. It is a wonderful image. And I like how you pushed the metaphor.

    Good luck today!

  2. Your post made happy, optimistic tears stream down my face for you. The hope, the follie pep talk, the images of you, your dh, and the kid(s) being great together… It’s lovely, and I hope the follies give it up, the eggs give the sperm a fair shake, and that there’s a whole lot of dancing going on in the petri dish later today. May tomorrow’s fert report be everything you hope for. Good luck!

  3. go dance, go!! Keeping my fingers crossed.

  4. sprogblogger

    Keeping my fingers crossed for you all.

  5. Love this post!

    Good luck 🙂

    ICLW

  6. 🙂
    I hope your eggie had a great dance today!
    ICLW

  7. Shannon

    What a great post! Now I have that song in my head. Looking forward to hearing what your fert report holds. Here’s hoping it’s the first step of a wonderful, lifelong dance.

  8. Miho_She

    It is wonderful how you put it all in words! You said it all, and said it so beautiful. Thanks! You are blessed. I keep my fingers crossed for this third IFV to be succesful!

Leave a Reply

