The best club I never wanted to join

So I’ve had some traffic to ye ole blog here, and some lovely comments from people who genuinely get how I feel. And I’m starting to find my way to other stories/other lives that are similarly complicated/heart-breaking/inspiring/full of a love yet to be realized and I don’t feel so alone anymore.

Remember that blind melon video? No Rain. With the bee girl? No, it’s on youtube…here, let me help. Just give me a sec.

Ok, I’m back – not sure if I’m allowed to do this but check it out.

So that Bee girl in the video. That was me. Wandering around in my infertile outfit. Feeling out of place and emotionally out of touch. Feeling a bit lost even in a room full of people who love me.

Until I found all the other bee people. The other women who also feel lost. Sure, some feel despair. And some feel hope. And some feel jilted. And some feel like it’s just a matter of time. And I think all of us feel all these things and more at some point or another.

If there was an internet version of being really drunk outside a bar at 2 am with a bunch of people who barely know you but totally “get you” and cause you to throw your arms around them and yell out “I love you guys”. This is kind of it. I know I don’t know you. I haven’t had the time to read all your stories from start to now. There are oodles of women here on the interweb, infertiles, Bee People I haven’t had the pleasure to get to know…yet.

I wish with all get out that none of us were part of this club. I wish it had no members at all. But I do admit that for a long time I felt like the only member. And now I know I am not alone. There are other Bee people. Good Bee People

I am really glad I found you.

4 Comments

Filed under infertility, ivf

4 responses to “The best club I never wanted to join

  1. babysmiling

    Here from Lost and Found and Connections Abound to welcome you to the blogosphere. I love your blog name!

    Not only can you link to YouTube, but you can embed video (I did it on a post earlier this week if you want to see an example). It’s very easy in WordPress… just click the button that looks like a filmstrip (to the right of the button that inserts photos), paste the YouTube URL, and it should work! There are a few YouTube videos that won’t work because they’ve disabled embedding, but I’m sure the bee girl will show up.

    Bzzzzz!

  2. awakeintheworld

    Ditto on loving your blog’s name. I know what you mean about this “club.” I think if this online community weren’t here, the men in the white coats would have carted me off a while ago.

  3. We are glad you’re here, but wish you weren’t 😉

    I love the Bee Girl analogy, and I remember watching that video like it was yesterday.

    Glad you had a fun night out! Those are nice every once in a while, and keep us going through the hard times!

Leave a Reply

